Psalm 34:8a Taste and see that the LORD is good.

My 9 year old son can make a good fried egg sandwich. They taste so good, not because they are cooked to perfection but because of my affection for him and his love for me. When he makes fried egg sandwiches as a service to me, done in love, with cheerfulness, they make me smile. And when I smile at his sandwiches that makes him smile too.

So too my life, my service to God, may not be the most exciting as some would count it. But for me when I know in my heart who I am serving, even in the most menial tasks, with thankfulness there I find a smile. I’m making fried egg sandwiches, or doing laundry, or whatever job for my LORD. And my LORD is gracious and kind, slow to anger and pours out his love to a thousand generations. He smiles when I make sandwiches in love with thankfulness.

It is all a matter of perspective: When I knew that Dave had leukemia suddenly a simple shared meal together was so sweet, moments shared were lingered over. Falling asleep holding him was so precious. He called me his Abishag. She was the beautiful young woman given to King David when he was old who kept him warm at night (1 Kings 1:1f) 🙂 That is why some cancer survivors call cancer a gift because suddenly they are alive to life. They notice if the air is fresh and crisp. They notice a bird singing. They are amazed at what they can see and feel, touch smell and taste. They are alive to life. Their loved ones seem more precious.

Such should be our love for God. It makes us alive to life.  Each moment embraced. Each moment precious. Taste and see He is good. Know that no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless. Psalm 84:11. He does not withhold any good thing from me.

When my heart starts to  grow cold to God or grief  robs me of joy I start with thankfulness. For God is good: He promises comfort in our sufferings (2 Cor 1:5). Go grace/comfort hunting. What can you find to be thankful about?

2 thoughts on “Psalm 34:8a Taste and see that the LORD is good.

  1. Hi Tarnya
    I have been thinking about you lots recently and used your fried egg story for devotions (without mentioning names!!) I love your honesty and the way you look for a lesson in everything- you could write a book of parables!!! I hope you have lots of precious moments tofday!
    Lots of love and a big hug
    Nicky waddell

  2. Pingback: We Remember: One year on. « David Burge Updates

Leave a Reply

